Walter Scott Prize


Now in its fifth year, the Walter Scott Prize has become a prestigious and distinctive star in the firmament of literary prizes.  Honouring the achievements of Sir Walter Scott, the founding father of the historical novel, the Prize rewards writing of exceptional quality with a setting of ‘Sixty Years Since’, echoing the subtitle of Scott’s most famous work, 
Waverley.  With a winner’s prize of £25,000, it rivals the biggest and best literary prizes in the UK.

The prize’s sponsors are the Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch, patrons of the arts and distant kinsmen of Scott, and they host the Walter Scott Prize awards ceremony with a magnificent gathering and public event at the Borders Book Festival in Melrose, Scotland, in June.  A shortlist is announced in April.

To qualify, books must be written in English and first or simultaneously published in the UK, Ireland or the Commonwealth.   Previous winners have been The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng in 2013; On Canaan’s Side by Sebastian Barry in 2012; The Long Song by Andrea Levy in 2011; and Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel in 2010.

For further information and a full set of rules please contact the prize administrator:

Rebecca Salt at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Walter Scott Prize for historical fiction was founded in 2009, and honours the achievements and legacy of Sir Walter Scott, the founding father of the historical novel. The prize is the first book award to recognise outstanding work in this burgeoning genre.


Wednesday, 23 April 2014 15:25

Author Spotlight - Kate Atkinson

In our first Walter Scott Prize shortlisted author spotlight, we're taking a look at Kate Atkinson's Life after Life - we'd love to hear your thoughts about the novel and the shortlist in general in the comments section - 

Friday, 04 April 2014 06:54

Walter Scott Prize 2014 Shortlist

We're delighted to announce that the 2014 shortlist has been announced - according to the judges, it "... has been the toughest choice of shortlist, from the strongest longlist, in the Prize’s five year history." 

Read more..

Wednesday, 02 April 2014 17:02

Walter Scott Prize 2014 Short List....

Short list will be posted here on Friday 4 April 2014...

The decision is in and we have a short-list for the 2013 Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction! We have six fantastic novels in contention, with settings ranging from Tudor and Restoration England to the slums of Victorian London, and from the bloody battlefields of the Western Front in World War One to the highlands of Malaysia during the ‘Malayan Emergency’...



Connect with us

Join in the conversation...

Join our emailing list

You are here: Home Walter Scott Prize